top of page
Search

Digital audio production

My first introduction to audio production was roughly around 1995. But of young mid teen kids, with no supervision, some liquor, some weed and a bunch of kids primed to party.

Looking around there is alot of instruments..full drumset +, multiple bongo sets, microphones attached to old pc running windows like 95.. running cool edit 1, some samples and we decided to record some stuff see what we could do.

..track was barely started I was glued to the multitrack editor.

Inopsy was born natural drums smasher..

Phychological bomb factory was banging the bongos and tambourine.

I ops starts shouting on the mic and I start mixing atmospheres and fx in

..son of a bitch this is good.

Now I'm completely hooked.

Can't afford it know nothing about it but there is an mpc 3000 down at the music shop for sale.

It's all I can think about. I'm 16 I make like 700$ a month my rents is like 500 and bills like 150 do the math .. I ain't buying this thing ever.

Maybe 2 days later my dad says here I sold some property. I'm giving you this money.

It's almost exactly what this thing costs

Fuck food!

Or anything.. I drive straight down to music store probably on empty, and spend it all on this sampler drum machine.

I'm playing this thing everyday trying make it do what I want..

Can't do it.

We start looking into free ware..

Now back then.. its trackers

There were a multitude of complex trackers. We chose Buzz.

That first night was the birth of Severed Digit Records.

Few words about the man who founded that label.

Genuine, a great guy.

Has a very cool style of music.

He was in it for everyone but himself.

He just loved the people, the different styles and experiences that connected all these people together.


Even after people went their own ways he kept going he never let go.

We made music together for a long while.

Moved out to Vancouver and lived the dream.











0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What N1tr1X is using..

1 fairly old lap top with broken monitor. Running windows 7 to support an oxygen 8 midiman from 1996. A 100$ beringer mixer, and m-audio box, and acoustic gtr, an electric gtr, microphone, abelton liv

Why sound check can make or break any performance

When making tunes on a shitty audio card, whit 20$ headphones, on 30$ Amazon computer speakers, with freeware.. listening on as many things as possible, and making tweaks to centralize the balance bet

bottom of page